Culture and heritage have the potential to further a city’s creativity, diversity, and innovation; the City of Nanaimo will honour this on April 13 with the 2016 Culture and Heritage Awards Ceremony.

Along with local entertainment, the ceremony will recognize Alyssa Glassford for Emerging Cultural Leader, Debbie Trueman for Honour in Culture, Susan Juby for Excellence in Culture, and Memorial John Hofman for the John Thompson Heritage award.

“These awards celebrate those who have made significant contributions to Nanaimo’s culture and heritage, making it a more culturally vibrant community,” said Mayor Bill McKay.

The Emerging Cultural Leader award recognizes upand-coming leaders who have contributed significantly to the new landscape of cultural life in Nanaimo. The Honour in Culture award recognizes individuals, groups, or corporations known for their dedication and support of the cultural fabric of Nanaimo. The Excellence in Culture award recognizes organizations or individuals who have achieved regional and/or national recognition in the field of arts and culture. The John Thompson Heritage Memorial award recognizes individuals who demonstrate outstanding heritage service and dedication to the community.

“This year’s award ceremony will not only celebrate those who have contributed to Nanaimo’s culture and heritage, but will feature a variety of performances by many local and talented youth,” said Culture and Heritage Coordinator Chris Barfoot.

Entertainment will include performances by the Vibrant Dance Studio, the Brigadoon Dance Academy, M.E.M. Dance Company, Nanaimo’s Poet Laureate, The Footprints of the Wolf, and the Wellington Jazz Band. Everyone is welcome, and tickets are free, but must be reserved. To reserve tickets, visit or contact the box office at 250-754-8550.

The event begins at 7 p.m.; doors open at 6:30 p.m.